Electricity & Lust

Amazing Dove Adverts

Posted in Adverts, Beauty, Beth by Beth Squires on October 6, 2007

I truly think these adverts are fantastic. They really, really reflect the thoughts and worries of young girls regarding their body image and spread the message that these images affect us well into adulthood.

Brittany Airbrushed

I’m an example of this; my self-confidence has been drastically affected by these pictures in the past, and will probably continue to be in the future. As a magazine obsessive I am probably bombarded even more by these images than most, and yet I still aspire to look like them. I flick the pages and compare what I view as my inadequacies with the streamlined perfect women gracing the glossy pages. I know it’s an industry, I’m educated on the workings behind them. And yet even I still think, if only…

Faith Hill Redbook

This unnatural female perfection is getting inescapable – it’s everywhere, and for girls coming into adulthood it’s very difficult to understand why you don’t look like your idol when all you’re trying to do is fit in. It’s a complex and layered subject to discuss, and probably best written about elsewhere. But these ads at least begin discussions within families, friends and perhaps even the advertising industry on the effect of this perfection process.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Socialite Dreams said, on October 7, 2007 at 12:11 am

    I agree with you very much…the dove advertisements are definitely something to think about…they are big hypocrits, but I still like the ads

  2. John said, on October 7, 2007 at 1:28 pm

    Fantastic post! I’m not sure I totally agree that Dove are hypocrites, for a Unilever-owned company this comes as quite a surprise. Their UK Campaign for Real Beauty was good natured enough but it’s great to see Dove are now going that extra mile.

  3. Beth said, on October 7, 2007 at 2:12 pm

    Thanks both for your comments. Talking about the hypocrisy there’s an article in today’s Independent with similar thinking http://news.independent.co.uk/media/article3036006.ece
    I have to say, I really don’t mind what the source is as long as it begins discussions on such subjects!

  4. Amrita said, on August 5, 2008 at 8:50 am

    Hey_x

    I think that Dove is doing a great job!! I’m 13, and i used to think “I wanna look like that.” but then I realized it’s impossible…because it is all fake! I agree with u totally.

    amrita x


Leave a Reply

