Electricity & Lust

Diggin…

Posted in Beth, diggin by Beth Squires on January 11, 2008

  listening-to-music.jpg

What are you diggin right now, Beth?

Music: I have been listening to Charlotte Gainsbourg’s enchanting album 5.55, in preparation for our trip to Paris later this year. It’s gorgeous…

Also the mostly-upbeat stylings of my Xmas present McFly’s Greatest Hits have been on my iPod and I’ve been marvelling about the fact that the American version of 5 Colours In Her Hair is much better than the UK one.

Finally, I’m loving M. Ward feat Zooey Deschanel and their song When I Get To The Border… as linked to by Sam yesterday.

Film/TV: I have just finished watching season 1 of Damages, and, as I said in my top TV shows of the year post, really enjoyed it.

I was also lucky enough to see an advanced UK screening of Juno, and loved it. It’s the first film in a long time I’ve laughed at, and really been touched by. Definitely see it when it comes out on Feb 8th, the dialogue is cringe-worthy and hilarious, the soundtrack is gorgeous and Michael Cera in bright yellow jogging shorts is a must.

I have also taken in The Savages, which I predict the Sideways-liking audience will like, but I found a little depressing (although perhaps that’s the point). Yes, the acting’s superb from Laura Linney and the great Phillip Seymour Hoffman, there are some very amusing lines peppering the script, but what can I say; it just wasn’t for me. The siblings (Linney and Hoffman) are brought together when they have to choose a care home for their ailing father – in a sense the movie kind of reminded me of a more indie version of Marvin’s Room… Perhaps I’ll try it again on DVD, as I know I’m in the minority.

Anyway, then last night I watched the Moving Wallpaper / Echo Beach ITV1 combo, and really enjoyed it. Mostly the MW part of the proceedings, but the decisions in that which filtered through into the ‘soap’ itself made it worthwhile, as did the great Jason Donovan.

Books/Comics: My reading has gotten off to a great start this year; I started the year reading Kazuo Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go, which was completely different to what I expected; a story of three children growing up in a facility / school called Hailsham. It slowly becomes clear why they’re there and what makes them different to other people, ending up as a fascinating study of human emotion.

The next book I read was Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates, soon to be a movie reuniting Kate Winslet and Leonardo DiCaprio. Published in 1961, it’s a tale of a young couple in the 1950s and details their frustrations and dreams for a better life. The characters are all intrinsically flawed, and the language Yates uses flows beautifully. I really adored this novel, and look forward to seeing the movie.

Next up, I’ve started Diablo Cody’s memoir Candy Girl, which looks set to be completely different as it follows the period of her life that she spent stripping, pre writing Juno. It’s filled with her trademark prose, and random pop-culture references that make me giggle. It should be very entertaining!

Anything else: I love that Creme Eggs are back in the shops… oh, badness. I’m over the moon about my new job and the trip to San Francisco in February that it incorporates. I’m pleased I have a pretty awesome boyfriend who makes me ridiculously happy and that we’re heading to the six year mark. Not bad innings so far, eh? Also, turning 24 soon, and leaving my current job so that means there should be a couple of parties on the horizon! Never a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

