Electricity & Lust

Brit Awards 2008: Nominees

Posted in Awards, Beth by Beth Squires on January 14, 2008

takethatbrits.jpg

It’s that special Award-dominated time of year again, and the next load of nominees to be announced on this side of the Atlantic are for the Brit Awards 2008.

Made up of a few fan-voted awards and a bunch of record industry suits-voted awards, there are debates over the meaningfulness of the Brits, but it’s more about the evening’s performances and dresses than the actual awards, right?!

There are some great nominees this year, but all I can say is: COME ON TAKE THAT!!!! The show will air on Feb 20th…

Nominees:

Male Solo Artist:

Jamie T

Mark Ronson

Mika

Newton Faulkner

Richard Hawley

Female Solo Artist:

Bat For Lashes

Kate Nash

Kt Tunstall

Leona Lewis

PJ Harvey

Group:

Arctic Monkeys

Editors

Girls Aloud

Kaiser Chiefs

Take That

British Album:

Arctic Monkeys – Favourite Worst Nightmare

Leona Lewis – Spirit

Mark Ronson – Version

Mika – Life In Cartoon Motion

Take That – Beautiful World

 

 

Breakthrough Act:

Bat For Lashes

Kate Nash

Klaxons

Leona Lewis

Mika

Live Act:

Arctic Monkeys

Kaiser Chiefs

Klaxons

Muse

Take That

Single:

Leona Lewis – Bleeding Love

Mika – Grace Kelly

Take That – Shine

Kaiser Chiefs – Ruby

Sugababes – About You Now

Mark Ronson ft Amy Winehouse – Valerie

Kate Nash – Foundations

The Hoosiers – Worried About Ray

James Blunt – 1973

Mutya Buena – Real Girl

International Male Solo Artist:

Bruce Springsteen

Kanye West

Michael Buble

Rufus Wainwright

Timbaland

International Female Solo Artist:

Alicia Keys

Bjork

Feist

Kylie Minogue

Rihanna

International Group:

Arcade Fire

Eagles

Foo Fighters

Kings Of Leon

White Stripes

International Album:

Arcade Fire – Neon Bible

Eagles – Long Road Out Of Eden

Foo Fighters – Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace

Kings Of Leon – Because Of The Times

Kylie Minogue – X

Critics’ Choice Award:

Adele

Outstanding Contribution To Music:

Sir Paul McCartney

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michael said, on January 15, 2008 at 7:57 am

    You know, I wasn’t going to comment on here for the simple weirdness of having a triplet special of my profile picture running down the side of you guys’ blog.

    But I figured, “what the hell” and I clicked to leave my predictions for the first 3 categories. Then I realized this post was much longer than I thought. Dammit, now I don’t feel like thinking that hard for the rest of them. And I can’t just leave 3. I also can’t back out now. I’ll leave my comment and get on with my life. I hate life.

  2. Beth said, on January 15, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    Oh god I know. There are many, but feel free to predict a couple!
    I won’t be predicting, but here’s who I would like to see winning / wouldn’t mind winning:
    Male Solo: Mark Ronson / Richard Hawley
    Female Solo: Bat For Lashes / PJ Harvey
    Group: The That all the way…
    Album: see above
    Breakthrough act: BFL again.
    Live Act: TAKE freaking THAT
    Single: you guessed it: TT (what can I say, they hooked me when I was young…)
    Int Male: Kanye or Rufus
    Int Female: Feist or Bjork
    Int Group: Foo Fighters
    Int Album: Arcade Fire

    I’m sure it won’t turn out like this though…

    And Michael, don’t hate life. It’s all good… the Brit Awards is a teeny tiny blip in the commenting landscape. And hey, there was totally a totem pole featuring you on the side of our site for a bit! WOO! Never a bad thing!


Leave a Reply

