Electricity & Lust

The Second Weekly Dig

Posted in Beth, diggin by Beth Squires on February 3, 2008

 westwing.jpg

As I’m trying to get into the San Francisco wake/sleep cycle I figured I would do a weekly Dig too! Hurrah!

Music: Um… what have I been listening to? I’ve been loving the Juno soundtrack, with its jangly melodies and Kimya Dawson-centric tunes. Especially the beautiful duet between Michael Cera and Ellen Page on their cover of The Moldy Peaches’ Anyone Else But You… Dreamy. On a side note, All The Young Dudes by Mott The Hoople is now my number one ringtone! I’m also adoring anything I can find by Yelle and Office.

Film & TV: I’ve watched Gus Van Sant’s Paranoid Park which I thought was beautifully shot and acted, with a great cameo by Gossip Girl’s Jenny (Taylor Momsen). Lost is back on US screens, and what an opener it was – setting things up nicely for the next 8 episodes… thank god they went over what happened because I was a little lost (hoho). The inclusion of a character I didn’t think I’d see again made me incredibly happy. I’ve also been watching The O.C season 4 (aka the one where it all went insane) and have really been enjoying the bizarreness of it all. I’d like to see Willa Holland (Caitlin) cast in Gossip Girl – I think she’d fit in nicely. It also made me miss Rachel Bilson & Adam Brody, can’t wait to see Jumper for a little Bilson, but Brody – where are you going to pop up next?? And as a house we’ve been taking in Series 2 of The West Wing. Classic.

Reading: Mostly magazines to be honest. Vogue Paris, Elle UK & US, the UK version of which has employed Chloe Sevigny as their style advisor in a fab move, also am loving their new cleaner subscriber covers. I’m looking forward to doing a bit more reading on my trip…

Anything else? Pop-culture is now my job as well as my hobby so I’m loving every darn bit of all that. Planning my trip has been fun, although a lot of it has been taken care of for me, and now I can’t wait to meet up with the girls at the airport tomorrow and get on the plane to the US! I have a new haircut, so I’m a big fan of Toni & Guy, and the lovely manicurist Aggie who works in my local salon too. Chocolate buttons and clementine slices are delish, as is mango… yum. I’ve seen my lovely parents in the last week and had a lovely walk round town with them as well as a yummy Chinese meal in our local. So everything’s pretty good at the moment.

Leave a Reply

