Electricity & Lust

Diggin

Posted in diggin by Sam Unsted on May 26, 2008

Music: I’ve been considering since yesterday the concept of ‘favourite albums’ following the Poptimist column on Pitchfork. It is a very individually definable phenomena and one that can change over time vastly. I’m going to write about it in full very soon. But this has prompted me to think about that exact deal and the two albums that I keep coming back to, Daydream Nation by Sonic Youth and Let It Be by The Replacements, have been getting a good chunk of play this week.
The Dodo’s Visiter album is growing on me and I got hold of Blue Cheer’s Vincebus Eruptum this week, a loud and slow proto-punk masterpiece. I’m still really unsure about My Morning Jacket’s latest which is a little too Prince-pastiche for me in places.
Camille remains on the playlist with her new record and I rediscovered one of my girlfriend’s favourite records this week, Joy Zipper’s American Whip. The album is among the most heartfelt and beautiful in the collection but avoids any sense of soporific lameness by maintaining a posturing cool and recalling the most dreamy parts of JAMC at all times.

Film: Lots of films watched this week. You can read my reviews of Bandit Queen and Alice in the Cities on Screenjabber. I’ll tell you in preview that I enjoyed one much more than the other.
I finally caught up with Tarnation this week, Jonathan Caouette’s amazing home-made documentary which is really about his mother and the lost generation of those sent to shock therapy by worried parents of the 60s. His story is pretty heartbreaking but what makes the film such a fascinating experience is his heavily underground-influenced visual style which includes many flashing montages of striking, Lynchian images and a wide palette of colours and music cues. It’s a nighmarish vision in places but really plays as a tribute to his damaged mother. Highly recommended.
Tom and I also decided it might be fun to re-experience the classic Twins, Ivan Reitman’s Arnie/DeVito comedy about the two playing genetically created twins who never meet. It’s a pretty average piece of rubbish but the overall concept – that Arnie is the absolute embodiment of perfect humanity and DeVito is all the dregs shlubbed together – is inherently funny. As I say, no classic, but it has a nice number of curio moments and a really odd, completely un-moody performance from David Caruso.
I promise next week will see me watching some better movies.

Books/Comics/Magazines: Great article in GQ about Errol Morris and his craft and a really nice profile of Obama in Esquire. I haven’t really taken in either yet.
Scott Pilgrim is on heavy reading rotation in our house now, loving that one. I’m also about to start reading Jeffrey Brown’s Clumsy, a painfully autobiographical tale of a young man attempting to lose his virginity.
I’m still on Generation Kill at the moment but I’ll finish that off today. It’s been a pretty harrowing read, particularly in the latter half where the real horrors of war seem to be seeping through the tough exteriors of the recon marines profiled. It certainly makes you at least question attitudes to war, particularly with regard to criticism of a world no-one who hasn’t experience it could ever understand fully. The TV series will be amazing.

Other: I’ve fallen head over heels in love with Tesco’s Finest Chicken Mulligatawny soup. Oh my god. The sheer amount of chicken in the thing. Fan-flipping-tastic.

Leave a Reply

