Electricity & Lust

Albums Since My Birth

Posted in Music by Sam Unsted on July 12, 2008

I’m so sorry not have have posted recently but you can check out a more regularly update version of the site on my Tumblr page. Bookmark that for more recommended links that I’ll be providing here.

Going round at the moment is a trend of listing the favourite albums since your year of birth and I thought I would indulge myself in that one. I’m going to do a movie one too so look out for that.

So, from my birth to now, my favourite records of every completed year thus far. An additional comment: I realise you are only supposed to choose one per year but damn, this was a little too hard for that. As far as my research goes, all are also based on UK release dates.

1984 – The Replacements – Let it Be / Prince – Purple Rain
1985 – Tom Waits – Rain Dogs / The Jesus and Mary Chain – Psychocandy
1986 – The Smiths – The Queen is Dead / Billy Bragg – Talking to the Taxman About Poetry
1987 – Dinosaur Jr – You’re Living All Over Me
1988 – Sonic Youth – Daydream Nation / American Music Club – California / Pixies – Surfer Rosa
1989 – Pixies – Doolittle
1990 – The Replacements – All Shook Down / Fugazi – Repeater
1991 – My Bloody Valentine – Loveless
1992 – REM – Automatic for the People / Nirvana – Nevermind
1993 – Nirvana – In Utero / Liz Phair – Exile in Guyville / Red House Painters – Red House Painters
1994 – Pavement – Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain / Soundgarden – Superunknown
1995 – Radiohead – The Bends
1996 – Stereolab – Emperor Tomato Ketchup / Beck – Odelay / Sleater Kinney – Call the Doctor / Weezer – Pinkerton
1997 – Radiohead – OK Computer / Spiritualized – Ladies and Gentlemen, We Are Floating in Space / Elliott Smith – Either/Or
1998 – Neutral Milk Hotel – In An Aeroplane Over The Sea / Eels – Electro-Shock Blues
1999 – Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy – I See A Darkness / Magnetic Fields – 69 Love Songs / Tom Waits – Mule Variations
2000 – Hamell on Trial – Choochtown / Badly Drawn Boy – The Hour of Bewilderbeast / Godspeed, You Black Emperor – Lift Yr Skinny Fists Like Antennas to Heaven
2001 – Elbow – Asleep at the Back / Sigur Ros – Agaetis Byrjun / The Shins – Oh! Inverted World
2002 – Queens of the Stone Age – Songs for the Deaf / Wilco – Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
2003 – Cat Power – You Are Free / The White Stripes – Elephant
2004 – The Shins – Chutes Too Narrow / Arcade Fire – Funeral
2005 – Sufjan Stevens – Illinoise / The National – Alligator / Mountain Goats – The Sunset Tree
2006 – Tom Waits – Orphans, Brawlers & Bastards / Cat Power – The Greatest
2007 – The Hold Steady – Boys & Girls in America

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Albums Since My Birth « ROCKIST said, on July 13, 2008 at 10:44 pm

    […] Since My Birth Electricity & Lust highlighted their list of top albums since their birth, so I decided to try it for myself. I am positive I will miss something, so if necessary I’ll […]


Leave a Reply

