Electricity & Lust

Diggin

Posted in Beth, diggin by Beth Squires on July 28, 2008

Music: Having attended T4 On The Beach the weekend before last on a press pass for my day job, I have been enjoying all manner of poptastic tunes in memory of an awesome day. Yes, I met those McFly lads and although Sam doesn’t need to worry about me running off with Harry (though if I had to run off with a member of McFly he certainly smelled the nicest) I’m loving their new album Radio:ACTIVE. It’s lots of fun, even if we did have to buy the Mail On Sunday to get it. Staying on the poptastic jaunt I’m yet to grow tired of Drake Bell‘s music, which has improved remarkably over only two albums – It’s Only Time is the best of them. The live versions of tracks from his upcoming third album are also boding well… so bring it on! (Sorry Sam.) I’m also adoring the soundtrack to the awesome movie The Wackness which is full of 90s hip hop from the Fresh Prince to Biggie and Nas. It’s so summery and reminds me of the great film which I can’t see being overtaken as my favourite indie movie of the summer. Biz Markie’s Just A Friend is playing almost constantly in my head.

Film/TV: The Dark Knight, The Dark Knight, The Dark Knight, The Dark Knight. Wow. I gave it a 5 star review, I loved it that much – not a bad performance in the movie, and so much better than I even expected it to be. I also went to see Wall-E with Sam, which had me hooked too… such an adorable romantic movie with breathtaking CGI. Baby Mama was OK, lots of jokes fell flat but it was saved by the fact I love Tina Fey and Amy Poehler, and Steve Martin’s small role was hilarious. Sam does not believe me on that, but it’s true. Also The Wackness is coming out on August 29 so in case I don’t write again before then you must see it. It’s fab.

TV-wise Gossip Girl has just finished so I won’t be watching that anymore, at least until the second season starts airing in the States. Sam, Tom and I had a bit of a The Hills season one marathon at the weekend which caused more debate than you can possibly imagine between the boys. Always entertaining. I caught a show called Ned’s Declassified School Survival Guide today while waiting for my daily Drake & Josh fix (I know, it’s still going on…) which was fairly amusing and I probably would have enjoyed lots if I was still of school-age. Alas, alack, I am not – no matter how much some of my pop culture tastes would have you believe I am. In relation to this, my favourite moment of T4 on The Beach came when I met Joe Dempsie who played adorable Chris in Skins, and he was lovely and so nice. Can’t wait to see what he does next…

Books: I haven’t been reading anything too exciting lately as I’ve been spending most of my time on the internet… but I did manage to read The 4-Hour Workweek by Timothy Ferriss which has some fascinating ideas about how you could arrange your working life if you just have the balls to do it. Stuff to implement and stuff to ignore, but it makes you think. I also picked up a couple of books featuring photos of hip kids at parties – last nights party and misshapes… curiously fascinating.  Also have been putting some positivity into practice with Gala Darling’s amazing blog iCiNG – read it and smile.

Other: The web browser Flock, the sun (but not the heat), sorting out my office (again), Sam catching me up in age until February, my housemate John being in Edinburgh to take over with Silence In C Minor, my other housemate Tom’s costume for his IMAX showing of The Dark Knight, a few days off. And, as if I couldn’t make this anymore D&J centric – I’m diggin the amazing transformation of Josh Peck. Bravo, Josh, bravo.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. mercy said, on December 30, 2010 at 2:33 am

    you’re so handsome


Leave a Reply

